What Happens During Your First DUI Charge?

What Happens During Your First DUI Charge?




When you are arrested and charged with a DUI for the first time, there are there are a lot of things to figure out. A DUI lawyer can estimate your situation and give you information on what penalties you could be facing with your first DUI offense.

In every state, it is against the law to be operating a means with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 percent or higher. If you are charged with your first DUI, you could confront suspension of your license, probation, jail time, or alcohol counseling depending on your state’s DUI law.

Hardly a Slap on the Wrist

If you are charged with your first DUI, you should not go into your case with the attitude that you won’t confront harsh penalties if convicted because you are a first-time offender.

Just take a look at these sample state’s first DUI offense laws as examples of the kind of penalties that may be in store upon simply being charged with a first DUI.

In some states, your 1st DUI method an automatic suspension of your driver’s license. for example, in Alabama, a first DUI offense includes a possible jail sentence of up to a year, fines between $600 and $1200, and a license suspension of 90 days.

California’s sentencing for a first DUI also includes the same three penalties, but if you are convicted of a first DUI [http://www.totaldui.com] offense, you will be required to serve a jail sentence of at the minimum 96 hours, pay up to $390 in fines and have your driver’s license suspended for six months.

1st DUI Penalties May Depend on Your Blood Alcohol Content

Did you know that In New Jersey, your BAC determines the extent of your penalties for your first DUI?

According to New Jersey DUI law, if you have a BAC between .08 and .1 percent, you may serve a jail sentence of 30 days, pay a fine of up to $400 and have your driver’s license suspended for three months; however, if you BAC is above .1 percent, your fines can be higher and your license could be suspended for seven months to a year for your first DUI.




leave your comment

Top