Pennsylvania DUI Law
The state of Pennsylvania has a set of rules for DUI situations, which may be referred to as drunk driving, driving under the influence (DUI), driving while impaired (DWI) or the new driving after imbibing (DAI). A DUI / DAI arrest will cause two situations: the court case, with a variety of possible consequences including jail, fines, mandatory alcohol education programs, loss of driving privileges, and more; and the driver’s license case, where the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDot) will seek to take away the driver’s license in a separate action.
There are also laws related to driving under the influence of drugs. This method that if arrestees have any assessable amount of a stated drug in their system, they will be punished. The law has a three-tiered system, where the punishments are decided based on the alcohol or drug level in the blood. The higher the level, the harsher the punishment.
According to Pennsylvania law, any person driving a car has given implied consent to one or more chemical tests of the breath, blood, or urine, if an officer has reasonable grounds to believe the person had been driving while impaired. If the driver refuses, then they will have their license suspended for 12 months, and 3 days of compulsory imprisonment. If the person is convicted of DUI or DAI charges, then the suspension will be in addition to the abatement of DUI or DAI statement. And the person is not entitled to have an attorney present for this particular test.